Handball blunder ref says sorry
A female referee has apologised for missing an obvious handball during the Matildas win over Equatorial Guinea at the Women's World Cup on Sunday.
Equatorial Guinea defender Bruna caught and held on to the ball for around 2 seconds following a Leena Khamis effort which had rebounded off the woodwork, believing a free-kick had been awarded.
She then let the ball drop to the ground but Hungarian referee Gyoengyi Gaal waved play on.
Equatorial Guinea scored just five minutes later.
The incident was also missed by the assistant referee.